飓风和佛罗里达州建筑规范

Facade + Envelope 新副总裁 Christina 和 John
Façade+Envelope 宣布新的副总裁
July 28, 2021
咨询 Facade Envelope 以保护您的建筑免受飓风破坏
September 16, 2021
全部案例

飓风和佛罗里达州建筑规范

两次飓风的卫星视图

东南部正处于飓风季节的中期,是讨论这些危险风暴及其对南佛罗里达州建筑物影响的最佳时机。 值得庆幸的是,自从 5 级飓风安德鲁于 1992 年 XNUMX 月上岸以来,建筑规范已大大改善, 破坏 25,524 所房屋 并杀死了 65 人。 

什么是飓风?

当最大持续风速达到每小时 74 英里时,风暴就变成了飓风。 Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale 根据飓风可能造成的财产损失将飓风划分为 1 到 5 级。 飓风季节从 1 月 30 日持续到 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,尽管飓风可能并且已经发生在这个时间范围之外。 NOAA 国家飓风中心 预测和跟踪这些大规模风暴系统,这些系统平均每年在大西洋盆地发生 12 次。

 

飓风建筑规范

佛罗里达州建筑规范是一套规范和法规,规定必须如何建造住宅或商业建筑以减轻飓风和其他自然灾害造成的破坏。 使建筑物符合规范可减少代价高昂的损坏并挽救生命。  

佛罗里达州拥有全美乃至全世界最严格的建筑规范,以防止飓风造成的破坏。 当。。。的时候 佛罗里达州建筑规范研究委员会 根据 1996 年飓风安德鲁之后的建筑规范,它发现这些规范是“一个由 400 多个地方司法管辖区和承担建筑规范责任的州机构以不同方式制定、修订、管理和执行的规范和法规的拼凑系统”,佛罗里达州住房金融公司。 这导致了一些变化,使我们今天拥有更严格的代码。 

佛罗里达州建筑规范的存在主要是为了保护公众的健康、安全和福利,但它也有助于保护财产投资并为保险公司、州和地方政府节省与自然灾害相关的减灾成本。 

您的项目符合代码要求吗?

无论您是开始一个项目还是翻新现有结构,玻璃和覆层专家 立面+信封 提供检查、现场测试、工程咨询,以确保您的项目符合佛罗里达州建筑规范。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

Hurricanes and the Florida Building Code

Facade + Envelope New VPs Christina & John
Façade+Envelope Announces New Vice Presidents
July 28, 2021
Consult with Facade Envelope to Protect Your Building from Hurricane Damage
September 16, 2021
Show all

Hurricanes and the Florida Building Code

satellite view of two hurricanes

The South-East is right in the middle of hurricane season, making it the perfect time to discuss these dangerous storms and their effects on South Florida buildings. Thankfully, the building codes have vastly improved since Hurricane Andrew, a category 5, blasted ashore in August 1992, damaging 25,524 homes and killing 65 people. 

What is a hurricane?

A storm becomes a hurricane when its maximum sustained winds reach 74 miles per hour. The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale gives a hurricane a category of 1 to 5 based on the hurricane’s potential for property damage. Hurricane season runs from June 1 to Nov. 30, although hurricanes can, and have, occurred outside of this time frame. NOAA’s National Hurricane Center predicts and tracks these massive storm systems which occur 12 times a year on average in the Atlantic basin.

Building codes for hurricanes

The Florida Building Code is a set of codes and regulations that dictate how a home or commercial building must be constructed to mitigate damage from hurricanes and other natural disasters. Having buildings up to code reduces costly damage and saves lives.

Florida has some of the strongest building codes in the nation, if not the world, to protect against damage from hurricanes. When the Florida Building Code Study Commission looked at the building codes after Hurricane Andrew in 1996, it found the codes were a “patchwork system of codes and regulations, developed, amended, administered and enforced differently by more than 400 local jurisdictions and state agencies with building code responsibilities,” according to the Florida Housing Finance Corporation. That led to changes that gave us the more restrictive codes we have today.

The Florida Building Code exists primarily to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public but it also serves to protect property investments and save insurers, the state and local governments money in mitigation costs linked to natural disasters.

Is your project up to code?

Whether you are starting a project or renovating an existing structure, the glazing and cladding experts at Façade + Envelope provide inspections, field testing, engineering consultation to ensure your project is in compliance with the Florida Building Code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *