الأعاصير وقانون البناء في فلوريدا

الواجهة + المغلف نائب الرئيس الجديد كريستينا وجون
تعلن Façade + Envelope عن نواب جدد للرئيس
28 تموز، 2021
استشر ظرف الواجهة لحماية المبنى من أضرار الإعصار
16 سبتمبر 2021
عرض كل

الأعاصير وقانون البناء في فلوريدا

عرض القمر الصناعي لاثنين من الإعصارين

يقع الجنوب الشرقي في منتصف موسم الأعاصير ، مما يجعله الوقت المثالي لمناقشة هذه العواصف الخطيرة وتأثيراتها على مباني جنوب فلوريدا. لحسن الحظ ، تحسنت قوانين البناء بشكل كبير منذ أن ضرب إعصار أندرو ، من الفئة الخامسة ، الشاطئ في أغسطس 5 ، إتلاف 25,524 منزلاً وقتل 65 شخصا. 

ما هو الاعصار؟

تصبح العاصفة إعصارًا عندما تصل رياحها القصوى إلى 74 ميلًا في الساعة. يعطي مقياس Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale للإعصار فئة من 1 إلى 5 بناءً على احتمالية حدوث أضرار في الممتلكات. يمتد موسم الأعاصير من 1 يونيو إلى 30 نوفمبر ، على الرغم من أن الأعاصير يمكن أن تحدث ، وقد حدثت ، خارج هذا الإطار الزمني. المركز الوطني للأعاصير التابع لـ NOAA يتنبأ ويتتبع أنظمة العواصف الهائلة التي تحدث 12 مرة في السنة في المتوسط ​​في حوض المحيط الأطلسي.

 

قوانين البناء للأعاصير

قانون فلوريدا للبناء عبارة عن مجموعة من القوانين واللوائح التي تملي كيفية بناء منزل أو مبنى تجاري للتخفيف من الأضرار الناجمة عن الأعاصير والكوارث الطبيعية الأخرى. يقلل وجود المباني حتى الكود من الأضرار المكلفة وينقذ الأرواح.  

تمتلك فلوريدا بعضًا من أقوى قوانين البناء في البلاد ، إن لم يكن في العالم ، للحماية من الأضرار الناجمة عن الأعاصير. عندما لجنة دراسة كود فلوريدا للبناء نظرت في قوانين البناء بعد إعصار أندرو في عام 1996 ، ووجدت أن الرموز كانت "نظامًا مختلطًا من القوانين واللوائح ، تم تطويره وتعديله وإدارته وتطبيقه بشكل مختلف من قبل أكثر من 400 سلطة قضائية محلية ووكالات حكومية مع مسؤوليات قانون البناء" ، وفقًا لـ مؤسسة تمويل الإسكان في فلوريدا. أدى ذلك إلى تغييرات أعطتنا رموزًا أكثر تقييدًا لدينا اليوم. 

يوجد قانون فلوريدا للبناء في المقام الأول لحماية صحة وسلامة ورفاهية الجمهور ، لكنه يعمل أيضًا على حماية الاستثمارات العقارية وتوفير أموال شركات التأمين والولاية والحكومات المحلية في تكاليف التخفيف المرتبطة بالكوارث الطبيعية. 

هل مشروعك يصل إلى كود؟

سواء كنت تبدأ مشروعًا أو تقوم بتجديد مبنى قائم ، فإن خبراء الزجاج والكسوة في واجهة + مغلف توفير عمليات التفتيش والاختبار الميداني والاستشارات الهندسية لضمان امتثال مشروعك لقانون فلوريدا للبناء.

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

Hurricanes and the Florida Building Code

Facade + Envelope New VPs Christina & John
Façade+Envelope Announces New Vice Presidents
July 28, 2021
Consult with Facade Envelope to Protect Your Building from Hurricane Damage
September 16, 2021
Show all

Hurricanes and the Florida Building Code

satellite view of two hurricanes

The South-East is right in the middle of hurricane season, making it the perfect time to discuss these dangerous storms and their effects on South Florida buildings. Thankfully, the building codes have vastly improved since Hurricane Andrew, a category 5, blasted ashore in August 1992, damaging 25,524 homes and killing 65 people. 

What is a hurricane?

A storm becomes a hurricane when its maximum sustained winds reach 74 miles per hour. The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale gives a hurricane a category of 1 to 5 based on the hurricane’s potential for property damage. Hurricane season runs from June 1 to Nov. 30, although hurricanes can, and have, occurred outside of this time frame. NOAA’s National Hurricane Center predicts and tracks these massive storm systems which occur 12 times a year on average in the Atlantic basin.

Building codes for hurricanes

The Florida Building Code is a set of codes and regulations that dictate how a home or commercial building must be constructed to mitigate damage from hurricanes and other natural disasters. Having buildings up to code reduces costly damage and saves lives.

Florida has some of the strongest building codes in the nation, if not the world, to protect against damage from hurricanes. When the Florida Building Code Study Commission looked at the building codes after Hurricane Andrew in 1996, it found the codes were a “patchwork system of codes and regulations, developed, amended, administered and enforced differently by more than 400 local jurisdictions and state agencies with building code responsibilities,” according to the Florida Housing Finance Corporation. That led to changes that gave us the more restrictive codes we have today.

The Florida Building Code exists primarily to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public but it also serves to protect property investments and save insurers, the state and local governments money in mitigation costs linked to natural disasters.

Is your project up to code?

Whether you are starting a project or renovating an existing structure, the glazing and cladding experts at Façade + Envelope provide inspections, field testing, engineering consultation to ensure your project is in compliance with the Florida Building Code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *